What is accreditation?
Accreditation is a process of external quality review. Accrediting agencies develop standards of excellence in areas such as faculty, curriculum, administration, and student services. Institutions and programs that meet the standards and that are granted accreditation continue on a path toward ongoing improvement.

Through the public recognition that accreditation provides, students, sponsors, employers, and others can identify schools that meet the standards for educational quality. Employers often want to know that an employee graduated from an accredited school. Accreditation is also important in the transfer of credit from one school to another, and it can be a means for access to federal education funding. In addition, accreditation is a means for the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to certify schools that are eligible to issue the necessary documents for international students to enter the country on a student visa.

The US Department of Education recognizes 6 accrediting bodies based on their geographical location/region.
The six (6) accrediting bodies are:

SACS - Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
WASC - Western Association of Schools and Colleges
NAAS - Northwest Association of Accredited Schools
MSA - Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools
NCA - North Central Association of Colleges and Schools
NEASC - New England Association of Schools and Colleges

National High School is recognized by the US Department of Education through our SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools) accreditation and internationally through CITA (The Commission on International and Trans-Regional Accreditation).

SACS Accrediting Commission is also recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). CHEA is a non-governmental agency that reviews and recognizes accrediting agencies that accredit degree-granting institutions and is listed by the United States Department of Education as a nationally-recognized accrediting agency.

Request Info